Archive for September 11th, 2007

blowin’ out some candles

September 11, 2007

Sending out some love to my friend Mikey — one of TSF’s earliest supporters AND the inspiration for our ongoing Sa Watch.

Happy birthday!

shoes: where tennis balls go to die…

September 11, 2007

Another edition of “where tennis balls go to die“:

I’m not entirely crushed that I missed out on eBay bidding for these Chuck Taylors (made with similar fabric used for tennis balls)…

Besides, there’s only room for one pair of wacky tennis shoes in my closet. So I would sooner save up my money to pick up these suckers.

Or if I’m sticking with the Converse brand, then I’d go for these Varsity All-Star Slip Red rubber Chucks. They’re like Crocs, but not. (I’m trying to find out where they’re for sale. I’ll let you know when I do!)

(via Flypaper; red chucks photo via Converse)

fashion focus: roger (with a g) at de la renta

September 11, 2007

Roger with a ‘G’* was clearly the talk of 583 Park Avenue, a decommissioned Georgian church which was the site of Oscar de la Renta‘s Spring 2008 show.

But as soon as The Polyphonic Spree started playing and the models made their way down the catwalk, the audience turned their attention away from the tennis star and towards the beautiful collection from Mr. de la Renta. Both the day wear and evening gowns were awesome.

Look-see: The whole collection, via style.com.

Roll call: Other sightings include Roger’s girlfriend, Mirka Vavrinec; Amanda Peet; and the bobbleheads of Anna Wintour and Victoria Beckham.

*Thanks, Dance-a-vic!

(photos by Getty Images)

spotted: vince spadea’s backpack

September 11, 2007

At this year’s RCA Championships in Indianapolis, American (and fashion, ahem, trailblazer) Vince Spadea was sporting this lovely leopard-print tennis bag.

Do he and Bethanie Mattek shop at the same hooker palace or what?

RELATED POSTS
>> Bethanie Mattek: it’s finally over!
>> vince spadea: at least he’s self-aware
>> fashion mishit: spadea’s bedazzling performance


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

