Archive for July 23rd, 2009

sw19 fashions

July 23, 2009

While I’m usually not a big fan of mass-produced, cliched sort of fashion, I couldn’t forego the Wimbledon Shop when I was at the Championships last month. The place was jam packed with the always-recognizable Wimbledon towels, white tennis skirts, over-sized tennis balls (for autographs!) and classic tees and polos with the Wimbledon emblem etched across them.

I perused the store, inching past eager teens who most certainly had daddy’s credit card at the pretty pricey Shop, and found a couple items I liked. The first was this tee, a bright, aqua-blue number with “Wimbledon” shadowed down the chest toward the navel and a silhouette of a tennis player etched across the words. The picture here makes the shirt look wide, which most of the tees were in the Shop, so luckily, when I tried on an extra small (I’m usually a small or a medium), it fit like a glove.

Picture 1

My second choice was this colorful print tee on a grayscale shirt. This one got thrown in my “workout tees” pile, as it goes well with several of my choice bandanas. But most of the shirts in the Shop were 100% cotton, meaning they’re not the best for workout-produced sweat, and shouldn’t be worn in heavy humidity (trust me – trial and error).

Picture 3

Check out the best-selling Wimbledon item of the season and the shirt I would of picked up if only I had seen it after the cut…

(more…)

tina and amy do the michelle

July 23, 2009

Esteemed journalist L. Jon Wertheim seems to be of good humor this morning. The CNN-SI Mailbag columnist, who recently released Strokes of Genuis, a story of the Federer-Nadal rivalry (among other things), posted this ridiculously funny video on his Twitter this morning.

The video clips features Tina Fey and Amy Poehler, both formerly of SNL fame and now peddling their own NBC comedies. The two do battle in a 2006 improv skit that features more grunting than a inter-generational match-up between Monica Seles and Michelle Larcher de Brito

Don’t be too surprised if you see either of the comedic geniuses sitting in MLdB’s box during next month’s US Open. Girls can grunt!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

