golovin’s red lacoste knickers… wait, she wore a dress, too.

by

By now you’ve heard of Tatiana Golovin‘s red Lacoste “knickers”, a part of her uniform for this year’s Wimbledon. The hot pants, embroidered with a crocodile logo on the right leg (cute!), caused a ruckus with the media but not with the All-England Club, who — even with their strict dress code — gave the outfit a stamp of approval.

(Edit: a Wimbledon official was quoted as saying that the underwear was “cleared with the referee in advance by the player. On the basis that they are underwear, they do not have to conform to the predominantly white rule.”)

Sadly, all the coverage didn’t even mention her classy dress: a low-cut number with trim (in red) that complements the green grass. The wristband I could have lived without.

Here are the questions journalists asked her at the circle jerk press conference:

Q. Can I ask you about your knickers?

A: Excuse me?

Q. Are you wearing red?

A: Are they? They’re supposed to match the dress.

Q. But the dress is white and the knickers are red.

A: There’s like a little red outline, and they say red is the color that proves that you’re strong and you’re confident, so I’m happy with my red knickers.

Q. Did you have any sort of grief from the umpires or any of the authorities sort of saying that they didn’t fit with the dress code, or were they okay?

A: No, I think it’s totally in the dress code. You didn’t like it?

Q. No, I thought they were lovely.

A: Thank you. So let’s have compliments then. Such threatening questions right away.

Q. They were lovely and I’d quite like a pair. I was wondering, are you going to keep on wearing them?

A: I think so, as long as I keep on winning.

Q. Were you actually asked any questions about it because they’re quite strict about all white?

A: No, I think I was fine, no problem.

Q. How about the match then (laughter)? Anyway, was it tough?

A: Yeah, I’m actually pretty happy about my first match. It’s the first one in six weeks. I’ve only had a week of practice before coming here. Obviously I wasn’t expecting to play great tennis or the level of tennis that I played when I stopped, but I did think I did some pretty good things out there. The most important thing is my ankle held up and it wasn’t hurting, and even when I was down 5-3 in the third I still wanted to be out there and I still wanted to fight, and I think that’s kind of what made the difference because I just really didn’t see myself going home right away.

Q. You were a break down in the final set so you had to dig deep?

A: I did, and I was like, I’m playing better and better. I think as the match went on I was getting a rhythm and starting to get a feel again. I just didn’t want to leave the tournament today (smiling). I’m happy about that.

Q. Almost going back to the knickers, not quite, do you get a lot of sort of like these marriage proposals and that sort of thing when you’re on court?

A: Do I? A little bit, kind of. But, you know, I’m not sure how to answer this question.

Q. You don’t hear those sort of the things?

A: Sure, yeah.

Q. That’s good fun?

TATIANA GOLOVIN: It is, yeah, it is. I think especially in London, in England here, you guys are really up into that. But it’s fun because it just kind of means I think it’s important we get a young crowd involved with tennis, so if we can get a young crowd out there, they’re having fun. We’re just trying to entertain, and it is fun for us, too.

Q. The British weather is not exactly

A: Yeah, it was kind of weird today how it rained and stuff. But I’m just happy we got through today and don’t have to play again tomorrow, so hopefully I’ll get some rest and the weather is going to hold up.

Q. Back to the knickers, do you have any other colors, or is it just red?

A: For now, for these two weeks, it’s going to be red. Then it’s a surprise for after.

Q. Do you just have one pair?

A: No (laughter). Are these questions allowed here like this? You talk about youth, look at these youngsters, your questions, tsk, tsk, tsk.

RELATED POSTS
>> what has lacoste done for its players lately?
>> golovin on the practice courts
>> Tennis Served Fresh’s Wimbledon coverage

2 Responses to “golovin’s red lacoste knickers… wait, she wore a dress, too.”

  1. Robert Says:

    Some time ago an announcement “Can somebody check Kathy Rinaldis’ knickers?” came over the PA as they were might not have been all white.
    How times have changed.

  2. shemales Says:

    An impressive share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis during this. And the man the fact is bought me breakfast since I ran across it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for your treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending time to go over this, I’m strongly over it and enjoy reading more on this topic. If you can, as you become expertise, do you mind updating your blog site with additional details? It really is highly a good choice for me. Big thumb up due to this writing!

Leave a comment